作者: leekaichung@admin@1120

李繼忠的的研究式創作主要關於歷史及編纂,系統和意識形態。

從早年開始,李氏有感於香港歷史檔案管理上乏善足陳;其後他發展以檔案研究方法為基礎延伸至創作與研究實踐。李氏透過一系列研究、社會參與及行動介入來回應歷史論述,以個體實踐作為對政治與藝術的轉化。除了個人創作外,未來致力建立不同的公共檔案庫。

李氏於2017年開展了六個以「遷移」作命題的相連研究式項目系列——在泛亞洲脈絡中的歷史與社會意涵為基礎,探索人口與物質流轉,以至地緣政治論述。因為需要親身體驗遷移的身心狀態,李氏自2020年開始持續地在路上。該系列的第一部分《復還、繕修和進退維谷》(2017-19)審視香港公共雕像的物質和意識形態轉變;第二部《通向深海的狹道》(2019-20),是關於在香港日據時期,香港和廣東省的居民被迫流離失所,其後發生了南石頭事件。其後的項目分別是:第三部:《流亡影院》(2020 -);第四部《無限列車》(2021-);第五部:《相思公園》(待定);第六部:《南燕低飛》(2020-30)。此系列亦於2022年開始以公共檔案庫的形式呈現。

在李氏的長期研究項目《人人檔案》,他跟不同的政府機構展開對話與協商,以探討歷史檔案在社會政治架構上的狀況;他於2016年正式成立獨立團體「人人檔案」,把歷史和檔案議題的創作延伸到合作企劃、教育與出版。

李氏和策展人沈軍分別於2020年與2022年創立了《彳亍以行》與《虛無鄉檔案》——前者是一個探討藝術家檔案、思想碎片與生存/工作方法的網絡檔案庫;後者把李氏的「遷移」系列擴展到公共領域層面,建構一個可讓公眾參與的網絡檔案庫。

李繼忠於2020年獲亞洲文化協會頒發Altius Fellowship,並於2018年獲香港藝術發展局頒發「2017藝術新秀獎(視覺藝術)」。

近年展覽包括: 《Internationale Kurzfilmtage Winterthur》(2021)(溫特圖爾, 瑞士)、《進退維谷》(2020) (蜂巢當代藝術中心:北京,中國)、《Landskrona Foto》(2020) (蘭斯克魯納,瑞典)、《赤字團》(2019)(長征空間:北京,中國)、《Seoul Mediacity Biennale 2018》(2018) (Seoul Museum of Art:首爾,南韓)、《第12屆上海雙年展:禹步——面向歷史矛盾性的藝術》(上海當代藝術博物館:上海,中國)(2018)、《造動: 2015 亞洲藝術雙年展》(2015) (國立臺灣美術館:台中,台灣)。

e: kaiclee13@gmail.com

Author: leekaichung@admin@1120

LEE Kai-chung performs artistic research on historical and historiography, systems, and ideology.

In his early years, Lee was inspired by the lack of proper governance over public records, then he develops his archival research methodology as his key artistic practice. Through research, social participation and engagement, Lee’s work resonates with historical narratives, which demonstrates that individual gesture as a transition between politics and art.

In 2017, Lee initiated a hexalogy of projects that are under the theme of “Displacement” – to take a departure from the socio-historical implication under the Pan-Asia context, the research-based series examines human dispersion, material circulation and their geopolitical relations. In order to experience both the mental and physical state of displacement, Lee has been constantly on the road since 2020. The first in the series, The Retrieval, Restoration and Predicament (2017-19) examines the material and ideological transition of public statues in Hong Kong; the second, The Narrow Road to the Deep Sea (2019-20), scrutinizes the refuge in Hong Kong and Guangdong during the Japanese occupation period that later led to the Nanshitou Incident. The rest of the series are as follows: the third: Theatre Exile (2020-); the fourth: The Infinite Train (2021-); the fifth: The Longing Park (TBC); the final: Southern Swallows Fly Low (2020-2030). The series will also be represented as a social archive in 2022.

Lee’s ongoing research project Archive of the People addresses the political standing of documents and archives in the social setting. In 2016, Lee established the collective “Archive of the People”, which serves as an extension of his personal research to collaborative projects, education and publications.

In collaboration with curator Shen Jun, Lee founded stepbackforward.art and PhantomArchives.com in 2020 and 2022 respectively: the former is an online platform collecting artist archives, fragmented thoughts and artist methodology; the latter extends Lee’s “Displacement” series to a public domain, constituting an online archives that embraces public participation.

Lee received Altius Fellowship from Asian Cultural Council in 2020 and the Award for Young Artist (Visual Arts) from Hong Kong Arts Development Council in 2018.

Recent exhibitions and projects include “Internationale Kurzfilmtage Winterthur” (2021) (Winterthur, Switzerland), “Predicament” (2020) (Hive Center for Contemporary Art: Beijing, China), “Landskrona Foto” (2020) (Landskrona, Sweden), “The Deficit Faction” (2019) (Long March Space: Beijing, China), “Seoul Mediacity Biennale 2018” (2018) (Seoul Museum of Art: Seoul, South Korea), “12th Shanghai Biennale: Proregress – Art in an Age of Historical Ambivalence” (2018) (Power Station of Art: Shanghai, China) and “Artist Making Movement – Asian Art Biennial 2015” (2015) (National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts: Taichung, Taiwan).

e: kaiclee13@gmail.com