遷移 >

無限列車(2020-)

《無限列車》以戰爭歷史作出發點,審視二十世紀初由日本帝國提出的一個巨型基建計劃——「大東亞縱貫鐵路」作為研究方法的框架,這研究式項目集中審視滿洲地帶作為歐亞大陸交接的紐帶,跨國界的鐵路系統與基礎建設在各國的權力拉扯下,人類遷徙的流動性、建設的勞役、情感創傷、身份建構與轉變,以及「國家創造」等具體概念。打撈在歷史中浮沉、最終被遺忘或抹去的人們。

《中俄密約》簽訂(1896年)後,沙俄取得在中國東北修築鐵路的特權,於1903年建成貫穿滿洲區域的鐵路,曾命名「東清鐵路」或「中東鐵路」。西伯利亞鐵路可連接中東鐵路,極大地縮短了原計劃中需要跨越俄羅斯南部的鐵路路程,因此它成為當時連接亞洲與歐洲的最快運輸線,今天我們稱之為「第一亞歐大陸橋」。

1912年起,孫中山陸續發表了一系列鐵路計劃,希望吸引外資與技術人員在中國境內建設勾連三大港口、貫穿全國分散的鐵路幹線、連接西伯利亞鐵路,這一度被稱為「二十萬里鐵路計劃」的巨幅構想,最終被收錄在1919年先後以英文和中文分別發表的《實業計劃》(此為中文譯名,其英文原題為 The International Development of China,直譯為《國際共同開發中國實業計劃書》)中。

1938年,作為對前蘇聯獨佔西伯利亞鐵路的抵抗與替代方法,日本鐵道省鐵道監察官湯本昇曾發表「中亞橫貫鐵道計劃」(中央アジア橫斷鉄道計畫),提出建設一條僅次於西伯利亞歐亞大陸橫貫鐵路的鐵路線,以當時的日佔朝鮮為起點,經過中國包頭、西安,穿過天山山脈南端進入帕米爾高原的阿富汗,最終與土耳其伊斯坦布爾的巴格達鐵路相連。這一沿著被稱作「絲路」的中亞區域鋪設鐵軌的計劃一經提出,日本國內多笑其荒誕,稱湯本昇是癡人說夢。

太平洋戰爭爆發後,緊隨新加坡於1942年落入日本帝國軍隊之手,「大東亞縱貫鐵道」的計劃取而代之,構想了一系列鐵路群,其中可見湯本昇計劃的參照,更主要規劃了從日本本島出發經水底隧道入朝鮮半島,進入滿洲境內的奉天市(現中國瀋陽),沿南滿鐵路南下連通北京、南京、漢口、南寧、廣州、香港等城市,再一路向南連接泰緬鐵路,最終與日本戰時盟友德國相連。

在還沒有把握掌控天空的時代,人對於基礎設施的激進想象圍繞著鐵路與港口。在計劃圖紙上的直線線段鏈接城市、剪裁土地、抹平地理。基建的思考尺度遠大於生命體,戰時的基礎建設拔地而起,許多人卻流離失所、被迫遷移。

虛無鄉遠(2022)

Displacement >

The Infinite Train (2020-)

Taking the war history as a point of departure, the research framework of The Infinite Train is based on the Greater East Asia Railroad, a mega infrastructure project proposed by the Empire of Japan in the early twentieth century. This research-based project focuses on the Manchurian belt as a meeting point between Europe and Asia, under the influences of multinational power struggle, how the concepts of human displacement and its mobility, labour of construction, emotional trauma, identity construction and transformation, ‘nation-making’ are interwoven through the transcontinental railway system and infrastructure. The project reaches out to the people who floated through history and were eventually forgotten or erased.

After the signing of Sino-Russian Secret Treaty (中俄密約) (1896), the Empire of Russia was granted the permission of building a railway in Northeast China, and in 1903 the railway was completed through the Manchurian belt, once named the ‘Eastern Qing Railway’ (東清鐵路) or ‘Chinese Eastern Railway’ (中東鐵路). Under the circumstance, the Siberian Railway, which could be connected to the Chinese Eastern Railway, greatly shortened the original plan of crossing southern Russia, making it the fastest transport link between Asia and Europe at the time, and today we call it the ‘Eurasian Land Bridge’ (亞歐大陸橋).

From 1912 onwards, Sun Yat-sen published a series of railway projects in the hope of attracting foreign investment and engineers to build a railway connecting the three major ports in China, decentralised railway lines through the country, and a link to the Siberian Railway. This mega-infrastructure plan, was once named ‘200,000 Mile Railway Project’, was published in The International Development of China, which was later translated into Chinese as ‘實業計劃’(literally means ‘Plan of Infrastructure’).

In 1938, as an alternative to the former Soviet Union’s monopoly on the Siberian Railway, the Japanese Ministry of Railways Superintendent Yumoto Noboru (湯本昇) announced the ‘Trans-Central-Asian Railway Project’ (中央アジア橫斷鉄道計畫), which proposed a railway line comparable to the Siberian Eurasian Transcontinental Railway, starting in Japanese-occupied Korea, passing through Baotou (包頭) and Xi’an (西安) in China, crossing the southern Tian Shan range into the Pamir plateau of Afghanistan, and eventually connects with the Baghdad Railway in Istanbul, Turkey. When Yumoto proposed the plan to lay railway tracks along the Central Asian region known as the ‘Silk Road’, many in Japan laughed at the absurdity of the idea, calling it a fool’s errand.

After the outbreak of the Pacific War and the fall of Singapore to the Japanese imperial forces in 1942, the ‘Greater East Asia Railroad’ (大東亞縱貫鐵道) was introduced as a series of railway clusters, which was obviously based on Yumoto’s plan. The Greater East Asia Railroad was planned to run south to Beijing, Nanjing, Hankow, Nanning, Guangzhou, and Hong Kong, and then south to connect with the Burma Railway and eventually with Japan’s ally Germany.

In an age when travel by air was still uncommon, man’s radical imagination of infrastructure revolved around railways and ports. Cities were simply connected by straight lines on blueprints, lands were cut out, and the geographical landscape was flattened. Infrastructure was thought of on a much larger scale than life forms, and while wartime infrastructure rose up, many people were displaced and forced to move.

The Shadow Lands Yonder (2022)