遷移 >

無限列車(2020-) >

虛無鄉遠(2022)

七頻同步錄像
16:9 | 4K | 彩色 | 24’30” | 多聲道 | 日語 | 中英文字幕

 

《虛無鄉遠》是由香港藝術家李繼忠與日本藝術家伊佐治雄悟合作的研究式創作。

項目關注二十世紀初的滿洲,在傳統帝國崩解與新國家被創造的過渡之際,因戰爭殖民而推動的大規模人口流動。農業開拓民成為殖民政策的另類工具,在那片黑土地上開拓新世界,於陌生國度中建立「家」,在虛無中放棄、重新尋找自我身份。他們陷入了「憧憬 — 建立 — 離開 — 滯留 — 遺返 — 排斥」的循環中,生命在「虛無鄉」中不經覺地虛耗,而嚮往的國家與家鄉卻無法再對他們視如己出。只因親手寫下自己名字,而後無來處亦無歸處。當戰爭完結後70年,除了可在空間與物質中追溯「人」存在的痕跡外,那些關於「去、留」的集體記憶、身體經驗與情感遺產仍然影響着現今的東北。

方法

兩位藝術家在全球疫情的影響下無法親身進行跨境實地考察;反之,他們克服地理限制並透過交替式的研究方式,代替對方去到各自身處的國家進行調研與訪談,然後共享素材、互換感受。項目當中一個主幹部分,是層層鋪展前開拓民的回憶錄文本,繼而重訪當時的遺返歸鄉路線,猶如擴增實境(augmented reality)般,體驗當下的東北與歷史中的滿洲重疊。在共同研究和創作期間,雙方因語言、文化、歷史背景的明顯分野而產生錯置的視覺,經過反覆的協調和討論,發覺那本質上的差異彌足珍貴,因為跟「滿洲」蘊含的複雜性並無二致,所以那拒絕單一化的態度亦盡量保留在作品與寫作中。

歷史背景

滿洲地帶於二十世紀初由原本一個多族群、部落、軍閥、勢力交匯的灰色地帶,因戰爭與鐵路發展慢慢被統合成一個多民族國家。由1920年始,在半自願情況下移民滿洲者,大多數是鐵路職員、投資者、軍人與技術人員。1932年,滿洲國在日本帝國的推動下成立。日本關東軍於1936年5月制定《滿洲農業移民百萬戶移住計劃》[1],1936年8月制定了《二十年百萬戶送出計劃》,日滿移民政策正式進入了第二階段——1937年至1941年為正式移民期。

自九一八事件後,滿洲同時成為了日本在東亞的戰爭前線與後方,在國策殖民的日本開拓者以農民與基層工人為主,因為日本在1937年開始全面進攻中國,滿洲作為東北亞的糧倉,以及日本致力發展的礦業與輕、重工業,為戰爭前線提供足夠的軍糧與補給。另一方面,因滿洲地理上接壤蘇聯,雖然蘇軍的主要戰場仍是在歐洲,但關東軍還是為滿洲設下四道屏障:分別依次為天然屏障(山脈、河流)、人工屏障(堡壘、城墻、前哨站)、關東軍,及滿洲開拓民,後者正是關東軍的「稻草人戰術」中的稻草人,目的是在必要時阻擋來自北方的烏鴉。後來事實證明了,滿洲國官員與關東軍在日本正式投降前已逃到接近朝鮮的通化,開拓民就被遺棄或是被命令透過自我犧牲抵抗或拖延蘇聯紅軍。

開拓民自身的身份認同原本並不會因移民而產生本質轉變,因為當時日本國民一直在「民族國家」的氛圍下生活,滿洲國中的台灣、朝鮮族、滿族、蒙古族、漢族在實質上被帝國視為次等。1937年後半強制性的國策殖民者,他們的身份直至終戰、甚至歸國後都處於一個很模糊的狀態——雖然立着「五族協和」的建國口號,但滿洲國有涇渭分明社會階段制度,日本本土國民在官方稱作「內地人」以區隔次之日治朝鮮與台灣的移民,而三地都有本身的國籍法,日本本土就滿洲國的國籍法一直沒有達成共識,因此,滿洲的國籍法在戰爭完結時還沒有完成立法。來自日本本土的開拓民保留原有的日本國籍,但破例擁有日滿雙重戶籍[2]與滿洲民籍。因此,日滿拓殖者必須經歷一個強制性的「身份過渡化」過程,尤其以這項目的研究對象——農業開拓民為例,亦有人堅持「內地人」身份認同,覺得到「新天地」來只為了機會和開拓;有的則視滿洲土地為他們的依歸,因為土地就是他們的生存之源以及延續家族的基礎,這正在日僑遣返過程中在精神與心理角度上理解祖國(Motherland / Homeland)和家(Home)最大的分別。

日本於1945年8月宣投降;1946年開始在國民政府與美國的協助下啟動了在滿日僑遺返政策。在返回日本後,前滿洲國民並不能順利回復出國前的身份,成為次等公民——被社會在道德上批判與歧視,被認為是唯利是圖之輩,但國家戰敗後就回國接受庇護。戰後,以美國為首的駐日盟軍軍總司令頒佈人口政策,把日本人以外的其他國民(前日本殖民地國籍者)驅逐出日本,目的是把日本塑造成一個單一民族國家。被遣返的在滿日僑除了在身份和社會地為上陷於一個尷尬的境地,戰後的社會福利與保障不能跟日本人相提並論。

無論如何,身份認同並非如護照般白紙黑字,「過渡」更是一個複雜過程;以上的歷史與細節脈絡有助我們去嘗試重塑當時的開拓民與遣返者在那個時間節點上,於多重身份的過渡經驗中嘗試調整心理狀態。

 

關於作品

《虛無鄉遠》聚焦於滿洲時期開拓民逃難與遣返的歷史,是李繼忠與伊佐治雄悟基於共同研究而合作創作的一組錄像與聲音裝置。

李繼忠根據歷史文獻與回憶錄,透過影像與創意寫作構築了一個七日的時空,通過想象重塑逃難與遣返的七天旅程中難民們的心理變化,以此探討政治驟然更迭之下,身份「過渡」的複雜過程。通過群體參與式的拍攝方法,李氏導引本地參與者的主體性與創造力,將繼承於複雜歷史與集體意識中的虛無感呈現出來,對於身份的困惑在歷史與當下之間交織:

「玉音放送」花了一段時間才傳到村子裏——團長一早跑了,那時侯只剩下她們、老人與小孩,『戰爭都是大人和男人們做出的決定。』她們拋下這一句,就無奈地遵從命令由「新天地」中的虛無鄉出發,徒步走到最近的城市和收容所,等待被遣返回國。為了避過南下的他國軍隊,唯有繞過主要道路,不得已走進密森裏。從北方的炎夏,走到初冬;她們把可以帶上的夏裝都一層一層地穿上了。一路上,一群烏鴉一直跟着在頭上盤旋,總覺得她們活不長久。她們在途中遇上了不同的人,因為自然環境嚴酷,結伴的人越來越少。在收容所住上幾月後,最後被送到碼頭,她們卻虛耗得只剩下軀殼。突然間,遠方傳來那首歌,就如往年每個早上,在虛無鄉的田野耕作時,當歌曲響起時大家都停下手上工作,寂默聆聽。但這次霎時回頭,依舊無言,且找不到焦點,因那首歌似曾相識但不盡相同。

在調研中偶然讀到的一本滿洲國旅遊指南讓伊佐治震驚不已——除了內文採用愉快的書寫風格介紹滿洲當地特色景點和紀念品外,扉頁還印了滿洲國國歌。曾通常被用來傳情達意、延續傳統的歌曲,在政權面前成為了自上而下用於統一國族認同的宣傳工具。歌詞中對於「新天地」與「新滿洲」的宏大暢想,對民眾而言,只能帶來疏離與壓迫感。因其政治隱喻以及用詞澀難明而被修改成幾個不同版本的滿洲國歌,最終成為隱匿在歷史之中的無聲碎片,如同這段被抹去的歷史記憶。伊佐治用他在日本重訪遣返者泊岸地點時收錄的田野錄音,對映至國歌原本的旋律,回應這一空洞政權與不經計劃的移民政策的荒謬感,也是一次對於這段隱藏于現代景觀背後的歷史的重審。

因應疫情限制之下的局部旅行與田野調研,兩位藝術家的創作互文而互補,才能共同回應滿洲地區複雜多元的身份認同與歷史。在時間迴廊中,觀眾跟隨着開拓民的步伐,走過北方的山嶺與森林。突然從來處響起陌生的曲韻,與影像中的人們一樣從虛罔中驚醒,兩位藝術家的目光亦在此刻相遇。

————–

[1] 目標是在20年間移民100萬戶(一戶五人,共約500萬人口)。

[2] 遠藤正敬,《満洲国における身分証明と「日本臣民」- 戸籍法、民籍法、寄留法の連繋体制》,《アジア研究》第 56 巻第 3 号,. 2010 年 7 月。

 


 

工作人員:

導演、劇本:李繼忠
研究員:沈軍|伊佐治雄悟

製作
製作經理:姜軍馳
拍攝助理:李文瑄|常笑

攝影
攝影指導:李繼忠
攝影師:姜軍馳
副攝影師:劉赫|吳文禮
無人機攝影:李繼忠

後期製作
剪接、調色:李繼忠
文本翻譯(中-日):李彥慶
文本翻譯(中-英):李威

聲音與音樂
聲效:李繼忠
音效混音:野澤美香|伊佐治雄悟
音樂:閆玉龍
配音錄音師:池田諒

演出
費詩幻|劉欣宇|張藝凡|叢妙|艾子園|田一岑|苗嘉育|劉桂玲|蟲二|魯鳳榮|沈軍|李與|李繼忠

聲演
伊佐治雄悟|安達桃代|遠山尚江|森ゆうな|津賀恵|齋藤春佳|平子寿十|池田諒|河上初子

鳴謝
河西|付經岩|黄婉珊|李致恿|潘赫|宋元元|謝天昊(冥葬樂隊)|張露|朱建林

Displacement >

The Infinite Train (2020-) >

The Shadow Lands Yonder (2022)

Septuple-channel video
16:9 | 4K | Colour | 24’30” | Multiple-channel audio | Japanese dialogue | Chinese and English subtitles

 

The Shadow Lands Yonder is a collaborative research-based work by Hong Kong artist Lee Kai-chung and Japanese artist Isaji Yugo.

The project centers in Manchuria in the early twentieth century, a time of massive population displacement driven by war colonisation as the traditional empire collapsed and a new nation was created. The agricultural emigrates became an alternative instrument of colonial policy, developing a new world, making ‘home’ in the foreign land with fertile black soil, abandoning their origins and rediscovering their identity. The emigrates were trapped in a cycle of ‘longing – developing – leaving – stagnation – repatriation – being rejected’, their lives were drained in the shadow lands, while they had belonged to neither the country nor homeland that they longed for. Seventy years after the end of the war, apart from tracing the ‘human’ existence in space and material artifacts, the collective memories and consciousness, bodily experiences and affective heritage of ‘the struggle of leaving or not’ still haunt Dongbei (Northeast China) at present.

 

Methods

The two artists are unable to conduct their own cross-border fieldwork due to the global pandemic; instead, they overcome geographical constraints, by adopting an alternate research methodology to conduct fieldwork and interviews in their own countries, and then share materials and exchange experiences. One of the main components of the project is the unfolding of former emigrates’ memoirs, followed by revisiting the routes they took to be repatriated back to their homeland, as if in an augmented reality, to experience the overlap between the present-day Dongbei and the historical Manchuria. During the course of collective research and creation, the two artists have diverse perspectives due to significant differences in language, culture and historical backgrounds. After much coordination and discussion, it becomes clear that the ontological differences are precious, as it was not dissimilar to the multiplexity implied by ‘Manchuria’, and so the rejection of homogenisation was retained in the work and writing as much as possible.

 

Historical background

In the early 20th century, the Manchurian belt was transformed from a grey area with many ethnic groups, tribes, warlords and powers converging into a multi-nation state, as a result of war and railway development. In 1932, Manchukuo was established under the auspices of the Empire of Japan. In May 1936, the Japanese Kwantung Army introduced the “Plan for the Agricultural Emigration of a Million Households to Manchuria” and in August 1936, the “20-Year Plan of a Million Households Emigration” was formulated. From 1920 onwards, most of the semi-voluntary emigrants to Manchuria were railway employees, investors, military personnel and technicians, and after 1937, the top-down national policy of colonisation encouraged the agrarians, who were deeply connected to ‘land’, to leave their homeland and set off for unknown destiny.

Since the Mukden Incident (or namely 18 September Incident), Manchuria became the Japanese frontier and the rear of its warfare in East Asia. Under the national colonisation policy, the Japanese colonists were mainly farmers and grassroots workers, as Japan began its full-scale attack on China in 1937, Manchuria, as the breadbasket of Northeast Asia, and the mining, light and heavy industries that Japan was developing, provided sufficient food and supplies for the war in the Greater Asia. On the other hand, as Manchuria was geographically neighboured by the Soviet Union, although the main war zone for the Soviets remained in Europe, Kwantung Army created four barriers respectively for Manchuria as a precaution: natural barriers (mountains, rivers), artificial barriers (forts, walls, outposts), the Kwantung Army, and the Manchurian agricultural emigrates, the latter being the scarecrow in the Kwantung Army’s ‘Scarecrow Tactics’, designed to keep out the crows from the north if necessary. As it turned out, the Manchukuo officials and Kwantung Army fled to Tonghua, close to Korean Peninsula, before the surrender of Japan in 1945, and the emigrates were abandoned, or ordered to resist the Soviet Red Army through suicide-attack.

The identity of the agricultural emigrates would not have been ontologically transformed by emigration, as Japanese nationals had been living in a ‘nation-state’ at the time, while Taiwanese, Korean, Manchu, Mongolian and Han Chinese in Manchukuo were treated as essentially subordinate to the empire. The identity of settlers, who were under the semi-compulsory national policy in 1937, was ambiguous until the end of the war and even after their return to Japan – despite the founding slogan of “Five Races Under One Union”, there was a clear-cut social hierarchy in Manchukuo, with Japanese nationals officially referred to as ‘mainlanders’ to distinguish them from colonial immigrants from Korea and Taiwan. Japan, Taiwan and Korea had their own Nationality Laws, and there was no consensus in Japan on the Nationality Law of Manchukuo, so it had not been legislated by the end of the war. The settlers from Mainland Japan retained their original Japanese nationality, but some had dual Japanese and Manchurian citizenship in exceptional cases. As a result, the Machu-Japanese settlers had to go through a compulsory process of ‘identity transition’, especially in the case of the agrarian settlers who are the subject of this project. This is the major difference between the spiritual and psychological understanding of “Motherland” and “Home” in post-war repatriation.

After Japan’s surrender in August 1945, followed by a repatriation policy for the Japanese in Manchuria, which was led by the Kuomintang government with the assistance of the United States from 1946 onwards.The former Manchurian nationals were not able to resume to their pre-domicile status after their return to Japan and became second-class citizens, they were criticised morally and discriminated, considered to be profit-minded, but returned home to take refuge after the country’s defeat. After the war, the US-led Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers (SCAP) in Japan issued a population policy to expel non-Japanese nationals (i.e. former Japanese colonial nationals) out of Japan, with the aim of making Japan a mono-ethnic country. The repatriated Japanese from Manchuria were put in an awkward position in terms of their identity and social status, and their post-war social welfare was not comparable to that of local Japanese.

Nevertheless, identity recognition is not as black and white as legal paper, and such “identity transition” is a complex process. The above detailed historical context helps us to reconstruct the psychological state of the settlers and repatriates at that point in time, when they were trying to adjust to the transition of multiple identities.

 

About the artwork

Focusing on the history of the Japanese evacuation and repatriation during the Manchurian period, the video and sound installation in The Shadow Lands Yonder is a collaborative research project between Lee and Isaji.

Based on historical records and memoirs, Lee constructs a seven-day time period with video and creative writing, re-enacting the psychological changes and conflicts of the refugees during the long journey of escape and repatriation, thus exploring the complex process of identity ‘transition’ under the sudden change of politics. Through a group participatory approach to filming, Lee draws on the subjectivity and creativity of the local participants to bring to life the sense of emptiness inherent in a multi-layered historical and collective consciousness, where the confusion about identity intertwines between history and the present:

“It took some time for the Jewel Voice Broadcast to reach the village – the leader had run away early in the morning and they, the olderlies and the children, were the only ones left behind. “The war was a decision made by adults and men.” said the female emigrants, they then reluctantly followed the order to leave the village of Shadow Lands in the “New World” and walk to the nearest city and shelter to await repatriation. The only way to avoid the troops from the north was to bypass the main road and take the dense forest. From the heat of the northern summer to early winter, they put on all the layers of summer clothes they could carry. Along the way, a flock of crows hovered overhead, thinking that the emigrants would not live long. They met different people along the way, and because nature is always cruel, fewer and fewer companions were left. After a few months in the repatriation facility, they were finally taken to the pier, but they were drained. Suddenly the song came from afar, just as it had every morning in the past, when everyone had stopped working and listened in silence as they ploughed the fields of the Shadow Lands. But this time, when they looked back in a flash, they lost for words and focus because the song was familiar but not quite the same.

During his research, Isaji was struck by a travel guide to Manchuria that he happened to read – in addition to the pleasant text featuring local attractions and souvenirs from Manchuria, the title page also featured the Manchukuo national anthem. Songs that were once commonly used to convey emotion and reinforce tradition became top-down propaganda to unify national identity in the hands of the regime. The grand visions of a “New World” and “New Manchuria” in the lyrics only brought a sense of alienation and oppression to the public. The Manchukuo national anthem, which has been modified into several versions due to its political metaphors and bewildering lyrics, eventually became a silent fragment hidden in history, just like the deliberately erased memories of that period. Isaji made field recordings during visits to the repatriation sites in Japan, and maps into the rhythm of the Manchukuo anthem, aiming to respond to the absurdity of the hollow regime and unplanned emigration policy, and a re-examination of a history hidden behind a modern landscape.

In response to the travel restriction during global pandemics, the artists adopt an alternate research methodology to conduct fieldwork and interviews in their own countries, their works are intertextual and complementary in order to respond to the complex and diverse identities in histories of the Manchurian region. In the passage of time, the audience follows the steps of the settlers through the mountains and forests of the North. Suddenly, a foreign rhythm is heard from nowhere, and like the people in the images, the two artists’ visions meet.

 


 

Credits:

Director and writer: LEE Kai Chung
Researcher: SHEN Jun | ISAJI Yugo

Production
Production Manager: JIANG Junchi
Production Assistant: LI Wenxuan | Maggie CHANG

Camera
Camera Director: LEE Kai Chung
Cinematographer: JIANG Junchi
Cinematographer (B Cam): LIU He | WU Wenli
Drone Pilot: LEE Kai Chung

Postproduction
Editor, Colourist: LEE Kai Chung
Translation (Chinese-Japanese): Hiko LEE
Translation (Chinese-English): Bill LEVERETT

Sound
Sound effects: LEE Kai Chung
Sound mixing: NOZAWA Mica | ISAJI Yugo
Music: YAN Yulong
Voice-over recording technician: IKEDA Ryo

Cast
FEI Shihuan | LIU Xinyu | ZHANG Yifan | Cong Miao | AI Ziyuan | TIAN Yicen | MIAO Jiayu | LIU Guiling | Chong Er | LU Fengrong | SHEN Jun | LEE Kai Chung | LI Yu

Voice-over Talents
ISAJI Yugo | ADACHI Momoyo | TOYAMA Hisae | MORI Yuna | TSUGA Megumi | SAITO Haruka | HIRAKO Shuto | IKEDA Ryo | KAWAKAMI Hatsuko

Special thanks
He Xi | FU Jingyan | HUANG Wanshan, Cat | LI Zhiyong | PAN He | SONG Yuanyuan | XIE Tianhao (Acherozu) | ZHANG Lu | ZHU Jianlin